venetian greyhound cocktail

Campari5

One of my favorite all time cocktails is a Negroni {and no, not because Anthony Bourdain recently popularized it on The Layover, although I do admit to having a bit of a crush on him}.  I love all of the flavors – the herbal but refreshing gin balanced out against the Campari, a type of bitters that people either love or hate.  There is something so exotic about this cocktail – like a champagne cocktail transports me to Paris, with just the first sip of a Negroni, you can’t help but imagine yourself in an outdoor cafe in a charming Italian piazza, savoring the last bits of light as the pace of your day slows down.

As my other go to cocktail is a greyhound, I thought it would be delicious to combine the herbal punchiness of the Campari with fresh grapefruit juice.  And because I seem to have a thing for infused liquors {see here}, I created a grapefruit infused vodka that I added to this cocktail to play up the grapefruit flavor even more.  A perfect cocktail to celebrate spring.  Cin cin!

Recipe continued after the jump>>>

Campari2

Venetian Greyhound

  • 2 ounces grapefruit infused vodka {or good quality regular or citrus flavored vodka}
  • 3 ounces fresh grapefruit juice
  • 1 ounce sparkling water {I used San Pellegrino}
  • 1 ounce Campari

Place ice in a tumbler.  Add vodka, grapefruit juice and sparkling water; stir to combine.  Add floater of Campari.  Bottoms up!

Campari6

Campari4


Campari1

Campari3

This entry was posted in Cocktails. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to venetian greyhound cocktail

  1. a pretty cocktail and your photographs are perfect!

  2. Pingback: how to make grapefruit infused vodka | { fleur de sel }

  3. chef mimi says:

    What is it about Anthony???????!!!!!!!!!!! He’s such a bad boy!!!

  4. So yummy – what a wonderful colour too!

  5. Beautiful cocktail, love a good negroni and your infused vodka is perfect for this, I always have campari stocked because it’s my favorite apertif,

Leave a comment